About Us

About Us

“Foundation for Innovations in Health”, registered under The West Bengal Societies Registration Act in 2013, was formed by a team of specialist doctors fortunate to have been mentored by national and global experts. The members of the foundation represent a wide spectrum of knowledge about rural India and the issues it faces. 

In all our years of operation, we have laid the foundation for Uday. Uday’s Digital Primary Care and Public Health Model (Uday) has touched over 10,000 beneficiaries. It continues to provide evidence-based primary care and training for health-care workers to this day.

Prof. Amitabha Ghosh is an Honorary Scientist in the Indian National Science Academy and Honorary Distinguished Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Applied Mechanics Department in the Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur, Howrah, West Bengal.

He is an Emeritus Senior Fellow of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and a Fellow of The National Academy of Sciences, India, of which he was elected a Senior Scientist Platinum Jubilee Fellow in 2012.

Prof. Gosh has been a pioneering and inspiring figure in academic research in India. His major research contributions include discovering the effect of magnetic field on wear, developing methods of enhancing damping through introduced stress concentration, analyzing kinetoelasto dynamic problems of high-speed compliant mechanisms, and discovering the phenomena of chaos in mechanical systems. He has also developed a modified law of inertial induction.

Prof. Ghosh has authored 9 books on science and engineering—the textbooks are considered classics and are followed extensively in India and abroad. He set up the first robotics centre in India in 1986 and in 1983 initiated robotics education. In 2001, when he was the Director of IIT Kharagpur, he started the school of Medical Science and Technology to start post-graduate education and research for MBBS doctors at IIT Kharagpur.

Prof. Marc Madou is the Distinguished Chancellors’ Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; the Distinguished Professor (Joint Appointment) of Biomedical Engineering and Distinguished Professor (Joint Appointment) of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Henri Samueli School of Engineering, the University of California at Irvine.

Widely known all over the world as one of the pioneers of ‘Microfluidics’, his research interests include Miniaturization science (MEMS and NEMS) with an emphasis on chemical and biological applications. His projects include polymer actuators (for drug delivery), C-MEMS, and CD-based fluidics, and has authored numerous highly acclaimed textbooks on the subject.

 Prof. Madou focuses his research on developing frugal technologies for ‘Extreme-point-of-care’ (EPOC) applications. He is also a Visiting Professor at Technologico de Monterrey in Mexico.

Prof. Suman Chakraborty is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and the Dean of Sponsored Research and Industrial Consultancy (SRIC) at IIT Kharagpur, where he is also an Institute Chair Professor.

He was also formerly the Head, School of Medical Science and Technology. He received the prestigious Santi Swaroop Bhatnagar Prize and became the youngest Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, Indian National Science Academy (INSA), Indian Academy of Sciences (IAS), and Indian National Academy of Science (NASI).

He was the recipient of the Indo-US Research Fellowship and the Scopus Young Scientist Award given by Elsevier because of the high number of citations on his research publications. He also received the Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship (2005), and Young Scientist/Young Engineer Award from various National Academies.

Prof. Chakraborty has been bestowed with the Fellowship of the American Physical Society, the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and the Fellowship of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He was a visiting Professor at Stanford University. In the year 2018, he was awarded the prestigious J. C. Bose National Fellowship, which is the highest Fellowship awarded by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India.

Dr. GR Vijaykumar
FRCS(Eng), FRCS(Neurosurgery), CCST, Spine Fellowship (USA), Skull Base & Vascular Fellowship (USA)


Dr. G R Vijaykumar is a neurosurgeon trained in the UK and the USA. He was one of the co-founders of the Westbank Hospital, along with Dr. Saha. Dr. Vijaykumar is recognized as one of the pioneers in bringing state-of-the-art neurosurgery to the middle-income population in the districts and villages of West Bengal. 

Dr. Vijaykumar has made significant contributions to the global spine journal AO Spine International and has been the author of several books in Neurosciences. He is presently the Head of Neurosciences at AMRI Hospitals, Salt Lake, and the President of Foundation for Innovations in Health.

Dr. Satadal Saha
MS(Gold Medalist), FRCS(Eng.)

Vice- President

Prof. (Dr) Satadal Saha is a Professor at the School of Medical Science & Technology at IIT Kharagpur. A general surgeon by profession, Prof. Saha was the key founder of the company in 2011. 

Prof. Saha has been trained in India and the UK. He founded the Westbank Hospital at Howrah and has established and operated four more hospitals in different districts of West Bengal—all delivering affordable speciality and super-speciality care to the rural population. In 2011, he shifted his focus to primary care and public health delivery to the vast rural population and started working on how innovative, cutting-edge science and technology can be leveraged to develop affordable healthcare technologies and software systems that may be used by trained and certified health workers to improve access to affordable high-quality healthcare in rural India.

Ms. Kuheli Saha is a Director of the company and leads the vertical of training and skill development across multiple states and centres. With over 20 years of teaching experience behind her in formal schools, she moved into the organisation to work for underprivileged youth and generate employability, work on women’s empowerment, and change lives—one life at a time. She addresses the social anthropological aspects of the training program to transform the disenfranchised youth into employable assets.

Ms. Suparna Pathak

Ms. Subha Pathak

Ms. Mousumi Banerjee

Sohom Banerjee

Royina Saha

   Sumit Chowdhury


Subhashis Dey

To know more about the team please visit JSV Website